About Licensing and Certification
What qualifications must be met to be licensed as an Administrator?
A Masters degree in a health related field from an accredited college or university; or
Holds a Baccalaureate degree from an accredited college or university and has successfully completed a Board-approved AIT program, or
Holds an Associate of arts degree in nursing from an accredited college or university and is currently licensed in Arizona as a registered nurse, and has worked as a registered nurse for five of the last seven years, and has successfully completed a Board-approved AIT program
Passed the written national examination of NAB
Pass with an 80% score, the written examination of Arizona statutes and rules.
Is of good character
Have a valid fingerprint clearance card
What qualifications must be met to be certified as a Manager?
Complete an NCIA Board approved caregiver training program and manager training program under the standards of R4-33-601 and R4-33-701.
High school diploma or G.E.D.
Current CPR card and basic first-aid card.
Document 2080 hours of paid work experience in a health related field within the last five years.
Pass the examination given by the Board, with a score of at least 75%.
Is of good character.
Have a valid fingerprint clearance card.
How long does it take to get licensed or certified?
That depends on when your application and all the required documentation is received, which would then be considered administratively complete. When your application is administratively complete you will be scheduled for the next examination. The application at the same time is put on the next available Board agenda for their approval pending passing the examination within the substantive time-frame of 105 days. The administrator and manager state examination is given on the first Thursday of each month
Click here for application process chart.
Click here for a list of exam dates and deadlines.
Can documents be sent into the Board ahead of the application?
Yes. The Board maintains a file of those required documents that are sent in ahead of your application. The application process will not start until the application and fees are received.
How often are licenses or certificates renewed?
Administrator licenses expire on June 30th of each even numbered year (2018, 2020, etc.)
Manager certificates expire on June 30th of each odd numbered year (2019, 2021, etc.).
It is important to keep your address, email address and telephone number current. Address and notice of appointments need to be completed in the portal at https://elicense.az.gov/
What happens if a renewal is late?
The license or certificate expires on June 30th. An expired license or certificate can be renewed if it is done by July 31st and an additional late fee is paid and all the other requirements for renewal are met.
If a license or certificate is expired past July 31st, it cannot be renewed and one would have to apply as a new applicant to get licensed or certified again.
Are Continuing Education Credits Required for Renewal?
Administrators have to complete a minimum of 50 hours of Board approved continuing education during the two year renewal period.
Managers have to complete 24 hours of Board approved continuing education during the two year renewal period.
If an administrator or manager does not take the required number of continuing education hours, their license or certificate will not be renewed. Also, an administrator or manager must have a valid fingerprint clearance card, and signed statement of citizenship form and copy of the required document, to renew their license or certificate.
Click here for a list of Board approved continuing education courses
Click here for a Statement of Citizenship form
Is an Original Duplicate Certificate or License Required for a Second Facility?
Yes. If you are an administrator or manager of two facilities an original or an original duplicate, issued by the Board, is required in each of those facilities. To get an original duplicate you will need to make a written request and pay a fee of $75.00. The original duplicate will then be signed by the Board members at the next Board meeting and then mailed. A manager can oversee no more than two facilities, no more than 25 miles apart . An administrator can oversee a second facility for no more than 90 days and no more than 25 miles apart.
To request an original duplicate license or certificate submit a service request in the portal at https://elicense.az.gov/